Recipes · Sauces

Chimichurri

Chimichurri has a piquant taste, usually using herbs, olive oil and spices to form a paste like sauce for topping grilled meats.

After seeing many cooking shows where they use a Chimichurri sauce, I thought why not try it. If you know my mom she always dips her grilled beef in barbecue sauce. The last two times I have cooked grilled beef, she has not, I repeat NOT, needed barbecue sauce. It is a miracle. Tonight’s marinated grilled flank steak was topped with  my take on Chimichurri, and she enjoyed it! Two steaks in my book for my mother not needing barbecue sauce.

Ingredients
1/2 bunch of cilantro
1/3 bunch Italian parsley
1 shallot, peeled
3 cloves garlic
3 sprigs oregano
2-3 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4-1/2 cup olive oil ( I used Italian herb olive oil)
1 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions
In a food processer, pulse the shallot and garlic till finely minced.
Take the leaves off the stems of oregano, cilantro and parsley, add in the leaves to the food processer.
Pulse till minced.
Add in lemon juice, olive oil and salt, pulse again.
Taste and add more according to your liking.

Can be kept up to a week in fridge in air tight container, best used fresh to top off your grilled meats!

While I did top my grilled flank steak with the Chimichurri, some did get on my roasted gold potatoes and it was heavenly!

Hope you enjoy my take on Chimichurri, feel free to adjust anything to what your taste buds tell you!

 

xoxo PamelaIMG_0214.JPG

 

4 thoughts on “Chimichurri

Leave a Reply

