Crock-Pot · Main Dish · Recipes

Southwestern Shredded Chicken

Happy Sunday! Today is daylight saving time, and normally most people are all excited to fall back and gain an extra hour, except for me! This time around it is really messing with my internal clock. I try to eat dinner around 6-7 pm daily, most days at 6:30pm, today my body was telling me to eat dinner at 5:00pm. So it may take me a couple days to transition to my regular eating schedule again.

This week with my dad on a business trip, my mother and I can buckle down on healthy dinners, without my dad complaining about having chicken for 5 nights in a row. I try to eat beef once a week and chicken or turkey the rest of the days.

Well, tonight I was on my own for dinner, cooking for 1, I threw some ingredients into my Crock-Pot and my dinner was ready in 6 hours! This low carb, healthy chicken dish was surprisingly tasty and full of flavor, without any added seasonings.

Southwestern Shredded Chicken

Ingredients
1 can- 32 ounces Red Enchilada Sauce
1 cup Southwestern corn mix* ( I used the frozen mix made by Birds Eye)
3 chicken breasts

Directions
Plug in your Crock-Pot, spray the bowl with non-stick spray ( for easy clean up).
Pour the can of enchilada sauce into the bowl, place in the chicken breasts and top with the corn mix.
Cook on low for 6-8 hours or high 4-6 hours.
Once chicken is cooked, shred with a fork and stir.
Serve with tortillas in a taco or in a lettuce bowl.

* Southwestern Corn Mix is sweet corn, black beans, bell peppers and onions, you can make your own or just buy the frozen pre mix pack!

I served my chicken over chopped romaine lettuce, topped with guacamole and sour cream!

 

xoxo Pamela

Leave a Reply

