Main Dish · Recipes

Kung Pao style Chicken

First of all, I am sorry haven’t posted in a little over a week. I have been busy, I started cooking meals for delivery to local friends and family. Last week, I also volunteered for my first time cooking and serving the homeless of my city.  It felt awesome, to see how thankful those less fortunate than me are for something so simple. We made a plan to try and volunteer for that once a month. Last week, I cooked healthy Chinese take out, style food. I created this kung pao chicken, which normally has peanuts, but only had cashews, and so I used those! It was divine.

 

Kung Pao Chicken

Ingredients
In a bowl:
1.25 pounds chicken breasts, bite sized cookies
1.5 teaspoons corn starch
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
1 tablespoon Reduced Sodium Tamari Sauce

Sauce: Add into a measuring cup
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
2 teaspoon Reduced Sodium Tamari Sauce
1 teaspoon Hoisin Sauce
2 packets of Stevia
1 teaspoon cornstarch
2 red jalapenos, diced
3 stalks green onions, sliced
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon minced ginger

Add right before serving:
1/4 cup crushed cashews or peanuts

Directions
In a bowl add in the cubed chicken breasts, with corn starch tamari sauce and rice vinegar. Let marinate in fridge for 4-6 hours. Remove from fridge 10-15 minutes before cooking.

In a large non stick pan on medium high heat, add the chicken and cook until done inside.
Pour in the sauce, make sure to keep stirring. Cook till heated through and thickened about another 5 minutes. (I added 1/2 cup sweet petite peas, totally optional)
Just before serving stir in the crushed cashews.

Serve over cauliflower fried rice for a healthier option than regular fried rice.

The red jalapeno has a bit milder flavor, with a punch of mild heat. You can also use red chili peppers or any other type of hot/spicy pepper. I was keeping it pretty medium spice, for my mother who hates spicy foods.

xoxo Pamela

4 thoughts on “Kung Pao style Chicken

Leave a Reply

